Redeemed

I got a lot out of church yesterday. Does that sound awful? Like I don’t get anything from it any other day? (Don’t worry, I do) :) My kids were quiet, Liam went to the nursery, and my heart and mind were captured by the sermon.

It captured me because I felt like it reflected my life in so many ways. I grew up knowing God, knowing Jesus… or so I thought. I went to church, said my prayers, but I didn’t truly have Jesus in my heart. Our guest speaker at church yesterday said in his sermon that if you’d go on the street and ask people if they believed in God, most would probably say “Yeah, I believe in God.” Take it a step further and ask. “Well, do you think you’ll get into heaven?” Scarily, most may respond by saying, “Yeah, I’m a good person. I haven’t done anything really bad. I try to be a good human being.”

In my adolescence, this probably would’ve been my answer, too. If I could earn my way into heaven by being a good person, then why did Jesus suffer and die on the cross to wash away my sins? If we had to earn our way to heaven, would any of us get there? I know that I wouldn’t.

Galatians 3:11-13

“Clearly no one who relies on the law is justified before God, because the righteousness will live by faith. The law is not based on faith; on the contrary, it says, the person who does these things will live by them. Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us…”

Our works won’t get us into heaven. Going to church every week, taking communion, trying to be a good person… won’t get you into heaven. It’s only by Jesus.

I remember when I truly accepted Jesus and asked him into my heart. I was 20 years old, feeling broken and defeated. I was constantly trying to fix it all myself and it always led me to defeat (anyone else been there?). I remember sitting on my knees and praying Jesus into my life and handing over the reigns to God. It was the turning point in my life.

Has my life been perfect since then? No. But God has laid everything into place. I haven’t always understood why He was doing what He was doing, but I trusted that He knew better than I did. And He’s never been proven wrong. My life has been transformed. God provides. God’s on your side. He will NEVER leave you.

I’m sharing this with you because I’ve prayed about it and felt compelled by God to share it. I tell you in hoping that it may touch someone… Even one person. God is so good and He loves you more than you can ever fathom. I often times think about the ones that I love so deeply in my life and I’m humbled and honored to think that the God of the universe loves me even so much more than that… even though I give Him so many reasons not to… He still loves me and calls me His child.

I pray that God would use me whether it’s through this blog or wherever it may be. I pray that my heart and mind would be softened and renewed each day and that He would be glorified through my life. I pray the same for you.

Leave a Reply

